Just to let ya in on a little something…

If you have read anything of mine since yesterday, you know that I started writing again (on paper) because of inspiration. If you are a friend of mine on Facebook or Twitter, you know that I don’t have issues posting status updates there, but that is because they are just general nonsense like everyone else posts. I realize that re-posting of some pics or sayings or whatever-have-ya-not gets a little annoying, but they obviously tickled my fancy, so whatever..I really don’t care if ya don’t like it. It’s not that hard to scroll past mine like you do everyone elses! This blog was started so that I could share feelings, opinions, and stories about what goes on in my daily life..this is a BIG leap for me. Here’s why…

I am not really what you would call an open and trusting person. I used to be. I got burned a few too many times for being the nice guy, so I decided keeping to myself was a better option. I’m sure plenty of people can relate. Putting myself and my words out here into cyberspace is a big deal for me because I have never really had much of a self-esteem. Even after all the words of encouragement to do this, I really didn’t know if it was a good idea. Low self-esteem and rejection don’t mix well. Putting myself out here in cyberspace is permanent. Anyone can see this. This scares the shit out of me because I am no longer limiting myself to my little social circle that I feel comfortable with. These posts are thoughts directly from my head and what is funny about this, is that the people who read my blog are going to end up knowing me better than the people that know me on the other side of this keyboard. Why? Because you are taking the time! I have heard a lot in my time “oh, I never knew that about you!” Well, really? Huh..ya didn’t really take a minute to give two shits, so I’m sorry if I felt it wasn’t necessary to inform you! I am not going to waste my breath on people who aren’t going to stick around…It only took me 31 years to get that figured out!

Anyway, the point of this is that my self-confidence has boosted since I started this. I never thought that I would start a blog, have 149 people view it in one day, most of them I don’t know, people from other countries (yes, this seriously blew my mind!), likes, comments and referrals from people I don’t know, and have one of my favorite authors comment and follow me. It is a little overwhelming and a whole lotta exciting! Even on days that I haven’t posted anything, people have looked! This, I think is so cool and I want to thank all of you who have read, liked, and/or followed, because this is helping me feel better about myself a little at a time. It is encouraging me to keep moving forward with this and makes it a little less scary for me!

 

2 responses to “Just to let ya in on a little something…

  1. I can totally relate to the sticking with the circle of people you are comfortable with. I think it takes a whole lot of guts to put yourself out there the way you are. Way to go!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

