Stroke of Luck?

I’m not sure if I should go buy a lotto ticket right now or just wait for the inevitable shit storm that is obviously brewing, since it seems that I will not be getting arrested today afterall. I’m kinda liking the fact that I don’t have a record!

Here’s what happened…

A few weeks ago, I got the survey in the mail for Jury Duty. I have had to do this once already and it didn’t work out so well for me. Anyway, I fill it out, send it back, then end up with the summons in the mailbox, shortly there after. GREAT! Not looking forward to this at all, but I put the summons aside where I will find it and mark my mental calendar.

That’s where things go bad! It seems that my 9 yr old has a better mental calendar than I do. This month has flown by so fast, I really haven’t paid attention to actual dates. Malerie, on the other hand, knows the dates for everything! (hopefully she retains this affinity for remembering dates as she gets older..that will be helpful in History and English classes. God knows she can’t remember anything I ask her to do for me!)

So, when was Alissa supposed to report for Jury Duty? According to the summons, 8 am on Monday, July 23! Yeah, that would be today! Mal rolls out of bed and the third thing she tells me is,  “You have Jury Duty today, mom. What time are you supposed to be there?” Me (after a colorful string of cuss words, that I try really hard not to use in front of my children, as I’m flying off of the kitchen chair to find the evil summons) “8 am”. Madelynn (11) “Umm..don’t you get arrested if you don’t show up?” (Shut up, Madelynn, shut up! Your knowledge of this part is not helping my nerves any!)

Me -doing a lot of “shhoosh-ing” and fast dialing, meanwhile trying to assure myself and my kids that I’m not going to the pokey today..finally gets ahold of the lady at the Jury Commission. I explain to the woman, who definitely did not sound thrilled or impressed that I, an adult, just confessed to not knowing what date it was, that I was supposed to be there and honestly forgot. She asks for my ID #..I read it off.. and her tone changes to one of pleasure when she informs me that I was one of the Jurors that didn’t have to report today. I continue to thank her as she begins to laugh..yep, this woman is laughing at me and thinking I am, quite possibly, one of the biggest mental midgets in Winnebago County!

See, if I would have remembered this was going down today, I would have known I didn’t have anything to worry about, because I would have been informed last night when I was supposed to have called the phone number!

So, now I’m wondering if I should play up my luck – since, normally I don’t have any, or lock everyone in the house and not answer the phone or doors, because something is bound to make my day turn to crap!

Oh, wait…kids just walked in and ones crying already! Here we go!

Sorry for errors…this ones posted from my handheld lifeline a.k.a. my phone!

2 responses to “Stroke of Luck?

    • LOL..Thanks! It wasn’t so good for the 20 minutes I was shittin bricks thinking I was gonna get a bench warrant! I have NEVER heard of anyone who has called the number the night before and not had to report, so I was shocked! I had to go one time a few years ago, I got selected to go into the court room and I had a minor flip out..small panic attack..lots of people around..LOL..not cool! Assholes made me sit in the hallway for 2 hours before they told me I could be dismissed. I really don’t ever want to do that again!

Leave a Reply

